Bewl Water

 Bewl Water

Bewl Water can be a difficult reservoir to fish, one way to reduce the odds and become more successful in catching the elusive trout is to become a member of the  Bewl Bridge Fly Fishers’ Club. www.bewlbridgeflyfishers.com . I have  been fishing at Bewl for about twenty-five years  and  I can honestly say that it  can be difficult at times due to  the immense  size of the reservoir. It was only a few years ago that I joined the club after a friend gave me a few copies of the  Bewl Angle the clubs magazine. The combined knowledge of the members and the editor of this bimonthly magazine  Ray French gives you a possible key to success at Bewl. I have been lucky enough to have recently caught a number of large fish at Bewl these have include a 10lb 4oz, 8lb 12oz, 7lb, 6lb and  a 5lb rainbow trout. All fish were caught on the same set-up, a washing line with a booby on the point and a combination of buzzers and nymphs as droppers. The 10lb, 8lb-12oz & 5lb fish were all taken on a green buzzer. This has been a very successful fly for me in catching lots of rainbows as all of these fish also qualified me for a Trout Masters badge. I tie all my own flies.

Comments are closed.